Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tomorrow is the day my entire life changes. It’s the day that all these years of life’s ups and downs have been preparing me for. It’s the day God knew would happen long before I ever imagined the possibility. And suddenly, the gravity of it all is hitting me.

Because it doesn’t matter how many years you spend in preparation, nothing prepares you for the day you walk into the orphanage to meet your children. I can’t help but feel overwhelmed right now.

Yesterday on the flight I cried a lot. The woman next to me likely thought it was because I was watching Pete’s Dragon, which was part of it. (Great film!) But it was mostly because I just couldn’t believe I was finally there.

Finally on the plane.

Finally on my way.

Finally.

And now I sit here, staring at the two little outfits I’ve set aside for my kids to change into at the orphanage tomorrow. And I’m listening on repeat to a Rascal Flatts song, where songwriter Matthew West says it better than I ever could.

I had all but given up on
Finding the one that I could fall into
On the day before you
I was ready to settle for
Less than love and not much more
There was no such thing as a dream come true
Oh, but that was on the day before you

Now you’re here and everything’s changing
Suddenly life means so much
I can’t wait to wake up tomorrow
And find out this promise is true
I will never have to go back to
The day before you

In your eyes I see forever
Makes me wish that my life never knew
The day before you
But Heaven knows those years without you
Were shaping my heart for the that day I found you
If you’re the reason for all that I’ve been through
Then I’m thankful for the day before you

The day before you
Was the last day that I ever lived alone
And I’m never going back
No I’m never going back

~Ruth

PS: I may not be able to update you for a while as my little family is busy starting our future together. But please know that I appreciate you thinking of us, and sending up a prayer whenever you can. Will update you as soon as possible!