Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Being single around the holidays is hilarious!

Sleeping on pull-out sofas and princess bunk beds because the married folks take up all the beds made for adult humans…

Sitting at the kids’ table for dinner because you’re the cool aunt and someone’s gotta help little Tommy cut up his chicken…

Having to endure the endless questions about why you’re not married yet…

Squeezing between two car seats with your feet on the hump because you might as well be a kid anyway…

Cringing as another male relative mentions the aging of female eggs…

Smiling as yet another person tells you they know someone who got married off eHarmony…

Making your best Jim Halpert face when you’re told, yet again, that you’re too picky…

halpert

Yep. Being single around Christmas and New Year’s is a barrel of laughs. I mean, I’m laughing right now typing this. It is hysterical that I am a single… woman… with a blog!

Truthfully, my family’s not that bad. I don’t get too many rude comments anymore. At least not to my face. Maybe they’ve already given up on me! Wait a minute…

I have experienced all of the above examples at some point in my life though — even in my thirties. But I’ve got other single friends who have it far worse. And I do feel for them. It’s amazing how married folks suddenly forget what it was like when they were single.

I’ve learned over the years that singleness is what you make of it. You can let others define how it feels to you, or you can define it for yourself. Coming into the holiday season this year, I chose to embrace my relationship status and view my life glass as half full. I’m not trying to go all Oprah on you, but a positive attitude does go a long way.

YOU get a date!

And YOU get a date!

YOU ALL GET DATES!

Just a few days left in 2015. Let’s focus on all the good that happened this past year. Let’s dream with excitement about the wonderful possibilities held in the year ahead. Give a stranger a hug. Eat another candy-cane-shaped sugar cookie. Bundle up and take a walk outside to admire the neighborhood Christmas lights. Watch a Hallmark Christmas movie. I highly recommend The Nine Lives of ChristmasΒ . . .

Nine Lives Of ChristmasFireman Zachary Stone is a confirmed bachelor who doesn’t believe in love or commitment. When a stray tabby cat named Ambrose shows up at his door, Zachary takes him in and slowly starts to see that a little companionship might not be so bad after all. Zachary’s commitment to solitude is further challenged when he meets Marilee, an animal lover and veterinary student who teaches Zachary how to care for his new feline roommate. Chemistry immediately develops between the two, but will they find a way together despite themselves?

Hallmark and Lifetime have helped me by allowing me to live through other people’s completely unrealistic and scripted relationship fiascos instead of focusing on my lack of one. Ignorance is bliss, people!

All joking aside, the holidays are a beautiful time of the year. Let’s not let other people’s expectations taint the joy that’s out there for the taking. Grab hold of it. We all deserve a wonderful holiday, regardless of whether we’ve come across our handsome, single fireman yet or not. (Seriously, I’d get a cat for this guy. And I’m deathly allergic.)

Wishing you all a fabulous 2016! I look forward to entering my fifth year of blogging (wow!) in the new year, sharing some exciting news about what’s been going on in my life, and hearing all the fabulous things going on with you guys. Remember, we’re in this together.

Happy New Year!

~Ruth