Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I should start by updating you on my slump status. As you may recall, my last post found me in a dating slump. I was sick of having to try so hard to obtain something so easily obtained by others. I was exhausted by constantly putting myself out there–online dating, happy hours, social gatherings and the like–with no tangible return on my investment. I was… well… tired.

Since that post, life has been good. Work is busy and exciting. Three family members visited at separate times, which translates to play dates with five nephews. Super fun! I read a couple novels. Traveled to Atlanta to visit my best friend. Bravely conquered a cricket infestation in my garage. Started an after-work walking routine with an encouraging colleague. Bought the new Kelly Clarkson album and am enjoying it on said walks. And even fired up the old grill for the first time on Memorial Day with surprisingly delicious results.

And still, even with all that smile-inducing goodness, the slump lingers.

Because it’s not as easy as just climbing out. If it were, I’d have done it by now. It it were, I’d have written several funny posts in the past few months… instead of leaving you all in deafening silence.

The truth is, not writing on here has helped me get through. I know, I know–writing is supposed to be my catharsis. But when the topics of my blog revolve around dating and singleness, it makes it harder to escape. It makes it harder to cope.

I’m not without hope, though.

I’m never without hope.

Because as my friends at Single Roots remind me, I am more than my relationship status.

I am a child of the living God. His creation. Or as Ephesians 2:10 says, his handiwork.

For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

I still get lonely. Lately more often than I’d like to admit. I cry sometimes. I feel antisocial. I withdraw. I’d rather not talk about it… or write about it.

But I must remind myself that my dating slump shouldn’t stop be from moving forward. There’s too much to do. And there’s too little time.

TulipsThe northeast United States had a particularly hard winter this year. Feet and feet of snow. Just when we thought we’d come out from under it, another storm rolled through. Just when I thought I’d spent my last backbreaking hour shoveling and salting, I was forced to lace up my snow boots again.

In recent weeks, my yard has started to recover from the harsh winter. The snow’s been gone for a while now, but the plants, grass, bushes, and trees were still recovering. They’d been through a lot. But now I see buds sprouting, and leaves growing, and flowers putting on a pretty incredible show.

These plants have been through this year after year. They know that winter will eventually come again and cause them pain and suffering. Yet, they choose to bloom anyway. They choose to hope anyway.

I choose to hope today. Not just in my dating life–because we’ve already established that life is so much more than that. But I choose to hope in all things. I choose to survive. I choose to thrive. And I believe you can do that, too.

Romans 8:37 promises us that.

In all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.

~Ruth

P.S.: If I haven’t said thank you lately, thank you. Your comments on the last post meant a lot to me.