Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Something happened over the past few weeks. You wouldn’t believe it if I told you, but I’m going to anyway. Right before my eyes, yet without me knowing it — time flew.

Nearly one month has gone by since I last wrote here… and it all swooshed by in what seems like the blink of an eye. Anย eye? One eye? I guess that’d make it the wink of an eye. I digress…

I’ve missed you guys! But alas, life happens. I’m not going to beat myself up about it. I’m not going to fall prey to the blogosphere pressure to blog “or else,” to blog for fear of losing readership or platform or meaning in life. When it comes down to it, I’ll survive if the only person left reading this blog is my mom. Oftentimes that’s already the case! (Hi Mom! What’s for dinner?)

Lake HopatcongTruth be told, this unplanned sabbatical has been a good thing for me. I don’t know all the reasons why yet, but in the words of Nina Simone, I’m feeeeeling gooood. I plan on keeping this going for the summer. A summer sabbatical, if you will. But don’t you worry — I don’t plan on losing touch with all of you. This community is too cool for that.

I plan to post snippets of correspondence I’ve received from you guys. My inbox is brimming with stories, questions, curious wonderings about this interesting, painful, hilarious world of dating and singleness. I’ve been terrible at writing back promptly (sorry!). Still, I feel you’d all benefit from hearing what your fellow singles are going through, the questions they’re wrestling with.ย So here begins the #SummerSingle series, because some are, well, single. (Get it?) It’s up to you guys to chime in and keep the conversation going. I’ll pop in when I can and insert my two cents. I’m so looking forward to this! So here goes…

First up is Ashley from North Carolina. Her note cracked me up, but it was so relatable that it also punched me in the gut. Here is a little piece of it. Can anyone else relate?

I turned 30 in May and feel like I must have missed the bus. I’ve been in about 9 weddings. Most of my friends are on there 2nd or 3rd kid. I just got home from hosting a baby shower in my hometown last weekend -where everyone asked what I was up to, had I found anyone yet?, when was I going to settle down, etc. I admit that I treated myself to Botox as a birthday present to myself to try and halt the aging process. I had such conflicting feelings about it- when did I become so shallow and materialistic, but how satisfyingly smooth my forehead looked! I’m debating whether or not I should do it again…

~Ruth

P.S. Share your story or question or thought or rant here! It could be featured on the next #SummerSingle post. ๐Ÿ™‚