Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

it_takes_a_churchThis is just a teaser post to remind all of you to watch It Takes a Church, a new, Christian dating show that starts this Thursday, June 5, at 9:00 pm Eastern Time on the Game Show Network. Yes, there is an entire network on TV devoted solely to game shows. Who knew? You can expect a lively commentary from yours truly in my next blog post, regardless of whether the show turns out to be amazing or just another train wreck of a reality show. But hey, nothing can be as bad as that one dating show where you dated a stranger in pitch black darkness and had to decide whether you wanted a second date before the producers flipped the light switch back on. That’s some Emmy-worthy stuff right there, folks.

So what is It Takes a Church? There’s not much online about it. (Not a great sign.) Christian powerhouse singer Natalie Grant plays host, which means (from what I can tell) she walks into churches and auctions off innocent single girls to whichever guy’s mom is the loudest. According to the trailer, “It’s a dating gameshow where the community plays matchmaker. Each week, a deserving single gets a shot at love, but it’s the congregation that gets to choose the dates.” Just the thought of my church congregation choosing my dates makes my cringe. Unless they choose that one brown-eyed cutie who passed me the offering bucket a couple Sundays ago… then it’s definitely from the Lord. Hallelujah.

Take a peek at the trailer:

The preview looks cute! It might be a refreshing change of pace to watch a dating show without a hot tub scene. But, I swear, if every girl ends up dating Jesus in the end, I might lose it.

I’ve got my DVR set to record this Thursday night. Join me! We can chat about it afterward.

~Ruth