Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Woke up with that pesky little editor’s voice in my head telling me I need to blog. Being that this is my first post of 2014, I decided to write it in style.

Breakfast in Bed

Not a bad way to write, eh?

Don’t worry. I won’t bore you with another New Year’s post reviewing my 2013 successes and failures, or embracing the opportunities in the coming year. There are enough of those on every single blog in the blogosphere. I won’t lay out my resolutions for your review. Been there, done that, failed at all of them. I won’t challenge myself to do this or do that. The #eBookbySpring challenge is already out there and haunting me hourly.

How about less talking about doing stuff and more just doing stuff?

So I write.

I’m not currently in a relationship. It’s been a while actually. Contrary to what you might believe, it’s not always easy to keep writing about singleness or dating. Sometimes it’s downright depressing. Or worse, embarrassing.

This morning I cried for about 15 minutes watching an incredible adoption video that my friends posted. I am so happy for them. My immediate thoughts: Life is good. God is faithful. I am single.

Yep, that’s right.

Life is good.

God is faithful.

I am single.

All of these things are true. Life is a gift, which makes it a good thing, independent of whether its current altitude is high or low, regardless of whether its current topography is mountain or valley.

God is faithful. Always.

I am single. Maybe always, but definitely now.

When something good happens, I often hear the echo, “God is faithful.” But isn’t he always? Isn’t he the giver of every good gift — of life and music and marriage and singleness and babies and sunshine and wintry weather?

Whether or not I’m in a relationship has zero effect on the goodness of life or the faithfulness of God.

It’s important to remember that. In every stage of life, in every relationship status, at every income level, after any medical prognosis, God remains faithful. Life remains good.

Many gifts were given and received this past Christmas. What if you watched someone open a gift you gave him, only to cast it aside and say, “Yeah, but you didn’t give me that other thing I wanted.”

Life is short. It’s but a breath, a whisper, a leaf rustling in the wind and fighting against being carried far, far away. Letting life pass by without grabbing hold of it is our loss. God, the giver of the gift, wants us to grab hold of it, too.

Life is good.

God is faithful.

I am single.

Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow
Blessings all mine with ten thousand beside
Thomas Chisholm (1866–1960) & William M. Runyan (1870–1957)

~Ruth