Tags

, , , , ,

I haven’t had a date in a while.

And guess what? It’s really hard to keep up a dating blog without dates to write about.

Sigh.

But worse than that is I’ve hit a real wall in the writing department. For you non-writers out there, it’s called writer’s block. And it really, really sucks. It results in me sitting for hours, staring at my computer screen. I think of an idea, begin typing it… then realize it stinks and erase it all. This is followed by a quick hop across Facebook and Twitter… a skip across Drudge Report… and sometimes a jump over to People.com. Then I come back, click “New Post,” and start the process all over again.

It’s exhausting. My back hurts and my right eye is twitching every so slightly. My brain seems to be completely blank, apart from the random commercial jingles that forever play on repeat. Dang memory!

I could write about being lonely. Been there, done that. Plus, I don’t really feel lonely tonight. I’m slightly disgusted with my lack of motivation and wouldn’t wish my current company on anyone.

I could write about 4th of July. But come on — if I read one more post about freedom and patriotism, I might move to Mexico.

I could write about how excited I am to go on vacation tomorrow! (Ocean City, Maryland, here I come!) But that just gets me thinking about all the things I still have to pack. Bug spray! Sun block! Sand toys to build the world’s biggest sand castle!

I could write about the heat wave. But I’m too hot.

I could write about the frozen pizza that’s in the oven right now, and how that makes me feel really, really single. Slightly depressing, but smells delicious!

I could write about my friend, Brooke, whose birthday is tomorrow! HAPPY BIRTHDAY, FRIEND!!! But, then I’ll feel guilty for not blogging about all my friends’ birthdays.

I could write about… okay, this is getting stupid.

My question to all of you out there is: How do you overcome writer’s block? Do you have any surefire tricks, tips or advice to get out of a composition funk? Do you have any ideas on how to spur creativity and get the ideas flowing?

Because my only plan right now is to hit the beach and hit it hard. I need to clear my mind, drown myself in a Nicholas Sparks novel, and forget about the world around me. I’m hoping this inspires me somehow, though I’m honestly not that optimistic at this point.

My back-up plan is to wait (impatiently) for my “muse” to show up. You know… that muse that Maya Angelou speaks of:

What I try to do is write. I may write for two weeks ‘the cat sat on the mat, that is that, not a rat.’ And it might be just the most boring and awful stuff. But I try. When I’m writing, I write. And then it’s as if the muse is convinced that I’m serious and says, ‘Okay. Okay. I’ll come.’

So, while I’m waiting for this mysterious muse to visit me, I would LOVE to hear your thoughts.

We’re all in this together, friends. Even you non-writers out there. Because let’s face it… we’re all writers when it boils down to it. We’re all artists, we’re all creators. And I’m sure we all go through the same valleys of “ugh.”

Enlighten me. Because right now, I’m completely in the dark. (Literally. Sitting on my couch watching Wipeout with the lights off, waiting for my pizza to let me know when it’s ready.)

Well, lookie here. I just came up with 621 words on basically nothing. Writing is so easy!

~Ruth