Tags

, , , ,

This is a photo of some flowers from my brother’s wedding last weekend. Breathtaking. Had you walked into the reception hall before the flower delivery, you would have thought, “Eh, no big deal.” But the flowers had the power to transform that space from “nothing special” to something absolutely amazing. What is it about flowers that makes them so powerful?

I didn’t get any flowers delivered today. But, during an early morning trip to the grocery story, I passed by the flower section, and I got lost in the colors, the aromas. I couldn’t help myself and bought a small bouquet of daisies!

I put them in my brand new Tiffany vase (thanks Dave and Laurie!), and my kitchen’s mood immediately changed. In fact, my mood changed.

If there are any men reading this, let me reassure you that flowers are always, always, always welcome by any woman, anywhere. I have never met a girl who didn’t like flowers. There are some girls who don’t like chocolate (A.K.A. “weirdos”)… and some girls who don’t like jewelry (A.K.A. “morons”)… but I do believe flowers are universally loved by all.

They have a power that’s unexplainable, really. They cheer up the sick, they comfort the grieving, they romance, they brighten, they color, they apologize, they welcome.

What’s not to love?

The only thing that can make a bouquet better is knowing they were given to me by a special someone. It could be from a friend, from my dad, or… gulp… from a boyfriend. It adds that special touch—that feeling that I am truly loved. Or even just liked. I’ll take it as long as it comes with some flowers attached!

There is an old Chinese proverb that says: “When you have only two pennies left in the world, buy a loaf of bread with one, and a lily with the other.”

For a carb-loving Ukrainian like myself, this is music to my ears.

So bring on the roses, the tulips, or (my personal favorite) the daffodils. Life may be like a box of chocolates, but it sure loves a bouquet of fresh flowers.

And ladies, if there’s not someone in your life buying you flowers at the moment… take a moment today to treat yourself. Why not? You deserve it.

~Ruth